No one knows what they’re doing.

9 May

ME: “Joel, I’m not very good at my new job, what should I do?”

J: “Get good.”

ME: “I don’t know how to. I’m not sure about the strengths I offer because I don’t think I’ve ever known them. And also–if they’re there, I don’t think they’re applicable to business.”

J: “Have you done strengths-finder?”

ME: “I haven’t. I tried to buy it today from Amazon but I’ve misplaced my debit card in this room somewhere.”

J: “So, you can cross off organization.”

He talks this way to me all the time.

“You’re good at being inquisitive, asking questions, finding context, and showing people a bigger picture. What do you feel you do badly at your job…?”

ME: “Well, the organization bit. I’m finding it really really hard to be in charge of a staff, creating structure around programming, taking care of all of the members, knowing all the members names, and knowing where everything is, while simultaneously keeping a larger vision of context. I get lost in all the little things I can’t manage. I am not going to be able to keep this job. There’s no way I’m going to make it through the 90-days to contract.”

J: “Well, honestly, that’s a stupid attitude to have, see, because at the end of the 90-days you should be the one who decides if you want that job or not. They should want you because of what you’ve brought. You’ve got to figure out how to turn the tables somehow.

And another thing, this is just like the Overcoming Imposter’s Syndrome post I read. In reality, no one knows what they’re doing. After I found that out, I relaxed.”

Leave a Reply

